Established by Europeans in 1830. Latest population figures from 2011 census of 1292.
This population increases dramatically during the summer months with tourists and holiday makers flooding the area. Whale watching draws many visitors to the town between May and August every year.
Its elevation is 14m above sea level which contributes to the stunning ocean and Blackwood River views available to many properties plus from the town centre. The mild weather has been a contributing factor to the popularity of Augusta to retirees from the 1990’s. The mean maximum temperature is 19.7 degrees C with a mean minimum of 14.1 degrees C. The annual rainfall is 976.1 mm.
First sighted by Europeans in March 1622 by a Dutch East India Company ship ‘Leeuwin’. (Lioness)
Cape Leeuwin was named by Captain Matthew Flinders in 1801.
Founded in 1830 with early families including the Molloys, Bussels and Turners.
The town was named in honour of Princess Augustus, a daughter of George III.
In the 1880’s there was an expansion of the Timber Industry with a mill at Kudardup and completion of jetties at Hamelin Bay and Flinders Bay. Remnants can still be seen today under the water and on the beach at Hamelin Bay.
Augusta was a stop on the Busselton to Flinders Bay branch railway which was government run from 1920’s to 1950’s. Prior to that M.C Davies had a timber railway system that went to both jetties in the 1890’s.
In 1895 the Cape Leeuwin lighthouse was constructed.
Augusta became world news with the stranding of 114 False Killer Whales in 1986. The subsequent saving of over 90 was a huge achievement by all involved.
In 1961 a large bushfire threatened the town and destroyed over 100,000 acres of farmland, bushland and forests plus destroyed the original townsite of Karridale.
A new large Marina /boat harbour was constructed south of Flinders Bay in 2005.
Today Augusta has a population that is slowly increasing as people discover this wonderful corner of Western Australia filled to overflowing with natural attractions.